May 11, 2020

Mini Series Review: The Sweet Series

I honestly would never have picked up this series were it not for 1) the knowledge that my friends DJ & Rachel love it and 2) the fact it was an option for our Paranormal Book Club (look out for that official post next week!). The Sweet Trilogy - Sweet Evil, Sweet Peril, Sweet Reckoning - is an older (as in early 2010s) YA paranormal series inspired heavily by angel lore. It follows the journey of Anna Whitt, who discovers her complicated angelic heritage when she turns sixteen. The series unfolds as Anna learns more about what it means to be a Nephilim, and learns of a prophecy that might just change the fate of the Nephilims and angels all together. 

It was a lot of fun reading this series, and I’m so glad I finally got around to checking it out. Higgins displays a lot of authorial strength when it comes to a lot of the key elements. There’s her lore, which I found really likable, accessible, darker than expected (it was seriously way heavier in many aspects than I had imagined it to be) and also developed in ways that I didn’t expect. There’s her strong world-building, with a variety of settings and the balance between paranormal details with contemporary ones. There’s her plotting, which was well-paced and entertaining and really kept me interested in seeing how it all would play out. (I alos want to mention that I felt the finale was really satisfying, though the big confrontation scene felt a little short for my personal liking.) And, of course, there’s the character work. I really appreciated how Higgins developed main character Anna, along with the rest of this cast, as I was deeply invested in their futures. 

Suffice to say, I really enjoyed Sweet Evil, Sweet Peril and Sweet Reckoning. The series holds up surprisingly well, in my opinion. It was entertaining, it transported me from real life into fiction and it gave me plenty of feels too. What more could you ask for really? I’d definitely recommend checking this series out!

Sweet Evil was published on May 1, 2012.
Sweet Peril was published on April 30, 2013.
Sweet Reckoning was published on April 29, 2014.
All three books (and Sweet Temptation, which is book one from Kai's perspective) were published by Harper Teen. I borrowed them from the library via Libby.


Post a Comment

Thanks for leaving a comment! I love seeing what you have to say, and will try to reply (here or on Twitter) as soon as I can :)