Friday, February 8, 2019

Book Haul: January 2019

I've been exclusively doing book hauls on our channel for the past couple of years, but I recently decided that I should start sharing them here on the blog again as well. I'm always excited about getting book mail, whether it's my own purchases or the exciting things that I get from the lovely folk at a variety of publishing houses. Without any more introduction, since we've got plenty to talk about, here's my January book haul! (*All review copies mentioned in this post were provided by the specified publisher for free.)


Purchased:
The Wicked King by Holly Black | the sequel to The Cruel Prince, and I have both the regular and the Barnes & Noble editions for my collection (my review)
The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty | read this on Kindle last month and really enjoyed it, and then I saw Shannon speak on a panel and loved that, so decided I wanted to own the pretty UK hardcover
King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo | a new Grishaverse novel that specifically centers around Nikolai Lantsov, my one true Grishaverse love


Purchased:
Little Women: 150th Anniversary Edition by Louisa May Alcott | a beautiful edition of a classic I'd love to reread before the new film comes out later this year (not in photo)
Enna Burning by Shannon Hale | the companion novel to The Goose Girl
The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits and a Very Interesting Boy by Jeanne Birdsall | a recommendation from Kristin that she says feels like a modern classic in the vein of Anne of Green Gables & Little Women
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett | an audio edition of one of my beloved classics, narrated by the incredible Karen Gillan and a beautiful slipcase edition (not in photo)
Middlemarch by George Eliot | my first official book purchase of 2019 and a pretty edition of a classic I want to read
Circe by Madeline Miller | a fictional take on the story of Circe, which is loved by some of my friends (Hi Madalyn & Melanie!)
The Girl in the Tower & The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden | the second and third novels in the Winternight trilogy, which I bought both to binge read the rest of the series and because I genuinely love the gorgeous UK hardback covers
The Binding by Bridget Collins | total case of "I bought it because of Instagram" meets "cover buy"
The Girl with the Red Balloon by Katherine Locke | historical fiction YA with a hint of magic that comes highly recommended by Madalyn (not in photo)
Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton | historical fiction that I've been hearing so much about, but specifically purchased because of Rachel
The Library Book by Susan Orlean | Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine January pick, but specifically purchased because I saw Kristin's copy and decided I couldn't pass up on a title that sounded interesting and looked so pretty

Borrowed/Gifted


For Review
Disney-Hyperion: Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee, The Last Life of Prince Alastor by Alexandra Bracken
Alfred A. Knopf: Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim (not in photo)
Berkley: The Bride Test by Helen Hoang
William Morrow: 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne
Avon: Devil's Daughter by Lisa Kleypas

1 comment

Thanks for leaving a comment! I love seeing what you have to say, and will try to reply (here or on Twitter) as soon as I can :)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
© Alexa Loves Books. Made with love by The Dutch Lady Designs.